

MEXBOROUGH & SWINTON ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY

Annual General Meeting Minutes

1st August 2019

Meeting open at 20:00

Members & Outgoing Committee Present

Les Marsden, Chairman Shaun O'Dell, Secretary Glenn Marsden, IT Officer Andrew Kirton-Vaughn, Obs. Officer Steve Taylor, Programme Coordinator Ed Bothamley Allan Chapman Stephen Condon Andrew Devey Alan Dibbo Dave Fenton Mike Hall Anthony Hood Kris Hudson-Lee Peter Jalowiczor Y Mick Collinson, Treasurer Roy Gunson, Deputy Chair A Y Tony Morris, Curator Υ Paul D'Silva, Fundraising Officer A Phil Muffett, Committee member Y Colin Jubb A James Lennard Steve McKenna A A **Michael Nicholls** Y Phillip Ramsden Y Jez Robinson Y Mike Scollan **David Stallard** Y Y Jan Stallard A Roy Wilcock

Y Y Y Y Y Y A A A Y A A Y Y A

That is 18 in Attendance, 12 in absentia (of which 3 sent apologies) The

Apologies

Apologies were received from Mick Nicholls, Shaun O'Dell and Steve Taylor. (Mr O'Dell arrived just at the close of meeting)

Roy Gunson was acting secretary for meeting and minutes. Shaun O'Dell arrived after close of meeting

Minutes of the previous AGM meeting

The minutes of the previous AGM, held on June 7th 2018meeting were approved and duly signed as a true account by the Chair Mr Les Marsden.

Correspondence

Two items of correspondence were brought to the meetings attention

- Virgin bank has informed us that they are joining with Clydesdale and Yorkshire bank and all will be rebranded as Virgin Money by the end of 2021.
- YW business services are transferring/ renaming to "Business Stream" from October 1st 2019

3 Annual Report & Statement of Accounts

Attendees of the meeting were asked if they were satisfied with the content of the annual report which had previously been distributed to all members. There were no issued raised so the report was accepted.

A slide showing the accounts for the year ending 31st March 2019 was shown. One question raised concerning the amount of money spent on the redevelopment of the observatory and site was answered to the questioner's satisfaction.

A discussion regarding the future of the expenses that may be required to run the society and the observatory was forthcoming. No information was readily available as the treasurer and other committee members were of the opinion that the expenses of items such as electricity use, water use, cost of septic tank content disposal on an annual basis are at this moment purely guesswork until we have had chance to work through a full year of opera

No other issues were raised.

4 Question & Answer Session

The falling membership numbers was raised and the steps that we can take to recover membership numbers. Proposals to look at getting closer contacts with schools & colleges, especially those undertaking Astronomy & Science based courses. Also looking at our strategy of going out into the local community to become "more visible" as a recreational opportunity for the public. We have built ties with local press in recent weeks which has borne some "fruit", this needs to be maintained if possible, to keep the society in the public eye.

The use of the observatory was raised, the issue that only a limited number of members are actually using and visiting the observatory. The committee are looking at running a "Moon Observation" programme in the autumn – some relevant speakers have already been booked and some practical session will be organised. A "Basics at the Observatory" course will also be put on the societies schedule.

It was requested that a proper mailing list for members be set up under similar conditions as the committee mailing list so that mail can be sent out without the revealing of individual email addresses. The access to the outgoing emails should be limited.

5 Proposed resolution

The meeting considered the following resolution put forward by Michael Collinson and seconded by Shaun O'Dell;

"The membership subscription rate for the year commencing 1 April 2020 be set at £88 per annum full rate and £68 per annum concession rate"

A vote was taken by a show of hands and the resolution was passed by 17 votes in favour, to 1 vote against.

6 Appointment of executive committee

There being only one nomination for each post on the executive committee then the candidates were elected unopposed. There was no nominee for the post of Fundraising Officer. The 2019-2020 committee as follows: -

CHAIRMAN	L. Marsden	CURATOR	T. Morris	PROGRAMME	S. Taylor
VICE CHAIR	R. Gunson	IT OFFICER	G. Marsden	OBSERVATIONS	A Kirton-Vaughan
SECRETARY	S. O'Dell	LIBRARIAN	P. Jalowiczor	ORDINARY	P. Muffett P D'Silva K Hudson-Lee
TREASURER	M. Collinson	FUNDRAISING	N/A		

Meeting closed 20:55